Corona Update: 6 states, including Maharashtra and Gujarat, registered an increase in active cases

New Delhi: The total number of active cases in India today stands at 1,59,590. The current number of active cases in the country is now only 1.44 percent of the total infected cases in the country. 6 states – Maharashtra, Kerala, Punjab, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Gujarat have recorded an increase in new cases of Covid during the last 24 hours. 8,333 new cases have been detected in Maharashtra yesterday. There is a steady increase in new cases in the state. Yesterday, 3,671 new cases were detected in Kerala and 622 in Punjab.

During the last 24 hours, 16,488 new cases have been registered in the country. 85.75 percent of new cases are from 6 states and union territories. There is a trend of increase in daily new cases in 8 states.

Kerala has seen the largest decrease in the number of active cases during the last two weeks. The number of such cases in the state on February 14 was 63,847 which has come down to 51,679 today. However, during the same period, the number of active cases in Maharashtra has increased from 34,449 to 68,810 today.

The Cabinet Secretary will chair a high-level review meeting today with the States / Union Territories showing an increase in the cases of KCovid including Telangana, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir and West Bengal.

According to the provisional report received till 7 am today, a total of 1,42,42,547 vaccine doses have been given through 2,92,312 sessions. These include 66,68,974 HCW (first dose), 24,53,878 HCW (second dose) and 51,19,695 FLW (first dose).

The second dose of Covid-19 vaccination has been started on 13 February 2021 for beneficiaries who have passed 28 days after the first dose. Vaccination of frontline personnel began on February 2, 2021.

A total of 7,64,904 vaccine doses were given on the 42nd day of the vaccination campaign (February 27, 2021). Of these, 3,49,020 beneficiaries were given the first dose (HCW and FLW) through 13,397 sessions and the second dose of vaccine to 4,20,884 HCW.

Eight states have 62.75 percent participation in the total number of beneficiaries in the country who have been given the second dose. Uttar Pradesh alone accounts for 12.64 percent (3,10,058) of the total vaccination of the second dose in India.

Less than 60 percent of registered health workers in 9 states / UTs have been given the first dose of Covid vaccine. These states are Arunachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Delhi, Telangana, Ladakh, Chandigarh, Nagaland, Punjab and Puducherry.

More than 65 percent of frontline personnel have been vaccinated in 12 states / UTs. These states / union territories are Ladakh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Odisha, Tripura, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Lakshadweep, Rajasthan, Kerala and Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

Less than 40 percent of frontline personnel have been vaccinated in 12 states / UTs. These states / UTs are – Puducherry, Andaman-Nicobar Islands, Meghalaya, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh, Telangana, Punjab, Nagaland, Goa and Mizoram.

So far, a total of 1.07 crore (1,07,63,451) patients have been cured from Covid. In the last 24 hours, 12,771 patients were cured and have been discharged from hospitals. India’s recovery rate is 97.17 percent which is the highest in the world.

84.79 percent of the new patients recovering are from 6 states / UTs.

The maximum number of 4,936 new patients in a single day has been cured in Maharashtra. While in Kerala and Karnataka, 4,142 and 642 new patients have been cured during the last 24 hours respectively.

113 covid patients have died in the last 24 hours.

Cases of 82.3 per cent of new Covid deaths pertained to six states / UTs. Maharashtra has the highest number of deaths of 48 new Covid patients, while Punjab and Kerala have lost 15 and 14 new patients respectively during the last 24 hours.

Seventeen states / union territories have not reported any patient deaths from Covid-19 during the last 24 hours. The names of these states / union territories are Gujarat, Odisha, Chandigarh, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, Puducherry, Manipur, Mizoram, Lakshadweep, Ladakh Sikkim, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh.