Know about Sanjay Arora, Tamil Nadu cadre IPS officer who will be the new Police Commissioner of Delhi

New Delhi: The Ministry of Home Affairs on Sunday (July 31) appointed senior Indian Police Service (IPS) officer Sanjay Arora as the new Commissioner of Delhi Police. Arora, a 1988 batch Tamil Nadu cadre IPS officer, who was till now serving as the Director General of Indo-Tibetan Border Police, will succeed Rakesh Asthana and will assume the post on Monday.

Sanjay Arora is a 1988 batch Indian Police Service (IPS) officer of Tamil Nadu cadre. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Malaviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur.

Since joining the IPS, Arora has served in various positions in the Tamil Nadu Police. He was the Superintendent of Police (SP) of the Special Task Force, where he achieved significant success against the Veerappan gang, for which he was awarded the Chief Minister’s Gallantry Medal for gallantry and gallant action.

Sanjay Arora was also instrumental in forming a Special Protection Group (SSG) to provide security to the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu during LTTE activities.

IPS Sanjay Arora took over as ITBP DG last year

IPS Sanjay Arora took over as the 31st Chief of Army Staff on August 31, 2021, taking over as DG ITBP. He has served in the Border Patrol Organization on deputation as Commandant from 1997 to 2002.

Arora also commanded a range guarding of the ITBP Battalion at Matli, Uttarakhand from 1997 to 2000. As an instructor, he made remarkable contributions to the field of training, serving as Commandant (Combat Wing) at ITBP Academy, Mussoorie from 2000 to 2002. ,

Sanjay Arora has also served as the Commissioner of Police of Coimbatore

Sanjay Arora has also served as the Commissioner of Police of Coimbatore city between 2002 and 2004. He was also the Deputy Inspector General of Police, Villupuram Range and the Deputy Director of Vigilance and Anti-Corruption.

He has headed the Chennai City Police as Additional Commissioner – Crime and Headquarters and Additional Commissioner – Traffic. On promotion, he was posted as ADGP (Operations) and ADGP (Administration) in Tamil Nadu Police.

Sanjay Arora, new commissioner of Delhi Police, has served in BSF, CRPF

New Commissioner of Delhi Police Sanjay Arora has worked as IG (Special Operations) BSF, IG Chhattisgarh Sector CRPF and IG Operation CRPF. He has served as ADG Headquarters and Operations CRPF and Special DG J&K Zone CRPF before being appointed as Director General of ITBP.

He has been awarded the Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2004, the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2014, the Police Special Duty Medal, the Space Security Medal and the United Nations Peace Medal, among others.