19 opposition parties to boycott the inauguration of Parliament House, ‘Undemocratic acts’

As the row over the new Parliament building snowballs, a group of opposition parties – including AAP, TMC and Shiv Sena UBT – boycotted its inauguration, issuing a joint statement on Wednesday.

Opposition parties have unanimously objected to the impending inauguration by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, noting that the honor belongs to the President of India.

“The inauguration of a new Parliament House is an important occasion… We were open to setting aside our differences and marking the occasion. However, Prime Minister Modi’s decision to inaugurate the new Parliament House himself, President Murmu To completely sideline it, is not only a grave insult but a direct attack on our democracy which demands a befitting response.

Citing Article 79 of the Constitution, the opposition parties said, “The President is not only the head of state in India, but is also an integral part of the Parliament. He summons, prorogues and addresses the Parliament. He has a Consent to the act must be given.” For Parliament to be effective… Nevertheless, the Prime Minister has decided to inaugurate the new Parliament House without him. This unbecoming act brings dishonor to the high office of the President, and violates the letter and spirit of the Constitution. It undermines the spirit of the Constitution. Inclusion that saw the country celebrate its first female Aboriginal President.”

“Undemocratic acts are nothing new for the Prime Minister, who has consistently hollowed out Parliament,” the statement said.

The joint statement has been signed by 19 parties – Congress, DMK, AAP, Shiv Sena UBT, Samajwadi Party, CPI, JMM, Kerala Congress (Mani), RJD, TMC, JD(U), NCP, CPI(M), RLD, Indian Muslim League, National Conference, Revolutionary Socialist Party, and Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam.

Here’s your primer on who said what:

“It seems that the Modi government has ensured the election of the President of India from Dalit and Adivasi communities only for electoral reasons… President of India Smt. Draupadi Murmu is not being invited to the inauguration of the new Parliament building,” Congress national president Mallikarjun Kharge said on Twitter.

“The office of the President of India has been reduced to symbolism under the BJP-RSS government,” he alleged.

The Modi government seems to have ensured that the President of India is elected from Dalit and Adivasi communities only for electoral reasons.

While former President Shri Kovind was not invited to the foundation stone laying ceremony of the new Parliament…

“Articles 60 and 111 of the Constitution of India make it clear that the President is the head of the Parliament. It was quite bizarre that the PM performed Bhoomi Pujan and Puja when construction began, but for him to have a completely incomprehensible (and arguably unconstitutional) and not the President inaugurate the building,” tweeted MP Shashi Tharoor.

The Deputy Chief Minister of Bihar told the media on Wednesday, “We will boycott the inauguration. The President is the head of the Parliament. We believe that he should inaugurate it. It is an insult to him.”

“The President is the constitutional head of India. It is strange not to allow the President to lay the foundation stone or inaugurate the new Parliament. Insulting the head of the union is an insult to our constitution. Therefore, you will boycott the opening ceremony in protest.”

Furthermore, AAP MP Sanjay Singh said that not inviting President Draupadi Murmu for the inauguration was a gross disrespect, and announced that the AAP would boycott the event.

“Why should the PM inaugurate the Parliament? He is the head of the executive, not the legislature… Why is the PM behaving as if his “friends” have sponsored it from their personal funds? The party’s national president Asaduddin Owaisi tweeted.

“All opposition parties have decided to boycott the inauguration of the new Parliament building on May 28 and we will do the same,” Sanjay Raut announced on Wednesday.

“Hon’ble. The President is the head of the Legislature, which is over the Head of Government i.e. the PM of India. As per protocol demands the new Parliament should be inaugurated by the President. Shiv Sena UBT MP Priyanka Chaturvedi wrote on Twitter, from power The blind BJP has become the source of constitutional immorality.

“Parliament is not just a new building; This is an establishment with old traditions