AIADMK allocated 20 assembly seats of Tamil Nadu, Kanyakumari Lok Sabha seat to BJP

Chennai: The agreement was signed after several rounds of talks by AIADMK coordinator O Panneerselvam, joint coordinator Edappadi K Palaniswamy and BJP general secretary and TN in-charge CT Ravi and state president L Murugan on Friday night (5 March).

Union minister and TN election in-charge G. Kishan Reddy and state BJP leaders held several rounds of talks with the ruling party last week, after which BJP’s electoral strategist and Union Home Minister Amit Shah held nearly three-hour-long talks with AIADMK leaders. And EPS last Saturday, OPS

The deal was reportedly delayed due to disagreements between the two parties over the sharing of some seats in the Western Belt, particularly in Coimbatore district.

The BJP has also been given the ticket for the Lok Sabha by-election for Kanyakumari constituency. The seat fell vacant after the death of Congress’ H Vasanthakumar due to Covid-19.

AIADMK has already allocated 23 seats to one of its partners PMK, while it continues to negotiate with smaller parties including Vijayakanth’s DMDK.

The Tamil Nadu assembly elections will be held in a single phase on 6 April. Elections will be held in a single phase in all 234 assembly constituencies of Tamil Nadu. Votes will be counted on 2 May.