Anshuman Gaikwad appointed as the new President of ICA

Former India opener Anshuman Gaekwad will replace Ashok Malhotra as the new president of the Indian Cricketers’ Association.

According to the draft list of nominees for the ICA elections, which will take place from October 27-29 and conducted by BCCI’s election officer AK Joti, Gaikwad, who was the ICA’s male representative in the BCCI Apex Council in the previous tenure. , is the only candidate for the post of President. Gaikwad just turned 70 and was ineligible to take up any position on the board, though he is eligible for the top ICA post, which has no age limit.

Former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar will take on former India batsman Malhotra for the post of a men’s ICA representative nominee in the BCCI’s Apex Council. Former India captain Shubhangi Kulkarni will replace Shantha Rangaswamy as the women’s player representative on the Apex Council of the BCCI.

Former Mumbai and Hyderabad batsman Vijay Mohanraj will be the ICA’s player representative in the IPL Governing Council. Hitesh Majmudar will take on Surendra Nayak for the post of ICA secretary, while Rakesh Parikh will contest along with V Krishnaswamy for the treasurer’s post.

Rangaswamy, former captain of the Indian women’s team, former Test players Yajurwinder Singh and Jyothi Thatte will fight for the two member representatives of the ICA.

In the case of the Mumbai Cricket Association, India’s 1983 World Cup hero Balwinder Singh Sandhu will take on former first-class player Anand Yalvigi for the men’s ICA representative, while Sangeeta Katware will be the women’s ICA representative.