Here are the Indian politicians who succumbed to the deadly coronavirus

Read in Hindi: यहां भारतीय राजनेता हैं जिन्होंने घातक कोरोनावायरस के कारण दम तोड़ दिया

COVID-19 wreaked havoc across India, killing 3,37,989 people (as of June 3, 2021), including the politicians and veterans we lost during the dreadful pandemic. On Monday, 60-year-old Laxmikant Sharma, former Higher Education Minister of Madhya Pradesh and senior leader of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), died of Covid-19.

Here is the list of politicians who succumbed to coronavirus
Pranab Mukherjee:
Former President of India and veteran Congress leader Pranab Mukherjee passed away at Army’s R&R Hospital in Delhi in August 2020. He had brain surgery and went into a coma. Mukherjee had tested positive for COVID-19 and his lung function was severely affected.

Ahmed Patel: Senior Congress leader, Ahmed Patel, who was known as the troubleshooter of the Congress party, tested positive for coronavirus last year. He was undergoing treatment in Gurugram, but passed away on November 25, 2020, when his health deteriorated due to COVID-19 complications.

Tarun Gogoi: Tarun Gogoi, the longest-serving chief minister of Assam at 84, had tested positive for the deadly COVID-19 infection last year. He had recovered from the infection but passed away on November 23, 2020.

Chetan Chauhan: Former Indian cricketer and minister in UP cabinet, Chetan Chauhan succumbed to COVID-19 in 2020. After getting infected with COVID-19, Chauhan developed a kidney infection and passed away on August 15, 2020.

Raghuvansh Prasad Singh: Former Union Minister Raghuvansh Prasad Singh, who is credited with the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA), passed away on September 13, 2020 due to COVID-19 complications.

Suresh Angadi: Union Minister of State for Railways Suresh Angadi died of COVID-19 in September last year at All India Institute of Medicine (AIIMS), Delhi.

P Namgyal: Senior Congress leader and former Union Minister P Namgyal became the first COVID-19 victim in the Union Territory of Ladakh. He passed away in June last year after being infected with COVID-19.

Abhay Bhardwaj: In Gujarat in 2020, BJP MP Abhay Bhardwaj died of Covid-19.

Nomula Narasimhaiah: Telangana Rashtra Samithi MLA succumbed to Covid-19 complications in 2020.

Anbazhagan: DMK MLA Anbazhagan was the first MLA in the country to lose his life due to COVID-19 on June 10, 2020, which coincidentally also happened to be his birthday.

Suresh Angadi: Belgaum MP and Union Minister Suresh Angadi succumbed to COVID-19 in Delhi in September, 2020.

Ashok Gasti: Karnataka MP Ashok Gasti also succumbed to COVID-19 in September 2020.

Kapil Dev Kamat, Vinod Kumar Singh: In Bihar, Minister Kapil Dev Kamat and Vinod Kumar Singh lost their lives due to Covid-19.

Kishore Bagri: BJP MLA from Raigaon in Satna district, Jugal Kishore Bagri, succumbed to complications related to Covid-19.

Govardhan Dangi: Congress MLA from Rajgarh, Govardhan Dangi, died on 15 September due to illness.

According to the news report more than 50 former MPs and MLAs have lost their lives simultaneously due to the infection. These include former Union Minister from Ladakh and Bihar MP Raghuvansh Prasad Singh P Mangyal and Rashid Masood of UP.

According to the Health Ministry, in the last 24 hours, India has recorded 1,34,154 new COVID-19 cases, 2,11,499 discharges and 2,887 deaths. The total number is 2,84,41,986, the total discharge- 2,63,90,584 and the death toll rises to 3,37,989.