IPL 2022: 2 new team will join IPL 2022, making it a league of 10 teams

New Delhi: Two new teams will be added to the Indian Premier League (IPL) from the 2022 edition, making it a league of 10 teams. The governing body of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) confirmed the entry of two new teams during its annual general meeting in Ahmedabad on Thursday.

Currently, only 8 teams participate in the IPL. In another major development, the BCCI also supported the International Cricket Council to participate in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics. The ICC wants to include the T20 format in the 2028 Olympics.

“Two new teams will be introduced in the IPL of 2022,” a board source told news agency PTI. In addition, it was decided that the Corona epidemic would suit all first-class players (men and women). Proper compensation will be given for the domestic season. The BCCI plans to start the domestic season after several months of delay with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Championship in January.

Along with this, senior Congress leader Rajiv Shukla has been elected as the Deputy Chairman of the Board. He will replace Mahim Verma who used to come from Uttarakhand. With this, it has been decided in the meeting that Saurabh Ganguly will continue to be the director of the ICC Board.

Ten teams will host 94 matches in the IPL, which will require about two and a half months, which can lead to chaos in the international cricket calendar. Along with this, the availability of top foreign players should be ensured for the entire duration of the IPL.

This year, the IPL was postponed from March to October due to the coronavirus epidemic. The tournament was held in the United Arab Emirates due to the high number of cases in India. Mumbai Indians held this record for the fifth time by defeating Delhi Capitals in the final in Dubai.