Lionel Messi banned for two matches after the first red card of his career

New Delhi: This was the first time in 754 matches that Lionel Messi was relegated to Barcelona. He received two red cards while playing for Argentina, including his first start in 2005.

After taking the ball out from the left, Messi bent his right hand over the head of athletic forward Ariar Villalibar as they ran towards the box. Villalibre immediately fell to the ground.

They would have faced clearance from four to 12 matches, with the RFEF’S competition committee describing the incident as aggression, but it was reported as “violence during the game”, which was two to three -The game was punished with a ban.

Barcelona captain Lionel Messi has imposed a lengthy ban to oust Asier Villalibre of Athletic Bilbao, who lost in the Spanish Super Cup final on Sunday, and will only complete a two-match suspension. The Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) said on Tuesday that Messi had been banned for two matches, meaning he would miss the final-32 tie at Coppella on Thursday and Sunday’s La Liga match at Alecia. He is set to return to face Bilbao in the league on 29 January.

Barca said they would appeal the ban. Argentina was sent to the end of extra-time in the Super Cup final, having suffered a 3–2 loss to Barca, which faced Villalibre.

They would have faced clearance from four to 12 matches, with the RFEF`S competition committee describing the incident as aggression, but it was reported as “violence during the game”, which was two to three -The game was punished with a ban.

It was the first time in 754 matches that Messi was relegated to Barcelona. He has received two red cards while playing for Argentina, including his debut in 2005.

After passing the ball from the left flank, Messi swung his right hand over the head of athletic forward Asier Willibbere as they ran towards the box. Villalibre immediately fell to the ground and after a video review, Messi was given his first red card in 753 appearances for Barcelona.

Referee Gil Manzano stated in his match report that Messi struck his opponent with “excessive force” while the ball was not near him.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.