Padma awards announced: here’s Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri recipients

Former Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe and late singer SP Balasubramaniam were named for this year’s Padma Vibhushan on Monday, while former Chief Ministers Late Tarun Gogoi and Keshubhai Patel, former Union Minister Late Ram Vilas Paswan and former Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan were awarded the Padma Bhushan.

The Padma Bhushan Awards, one of the highest civilian honors in India, which are declared on the eve of Republic Day, are given in three categories – Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished of higher order Service) and Padma Shri (distinguished service).

The award recognizes achievements in all areas of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved. The Padma Awards are awarded on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year.

The Union Home Ministry said on Monday that the President has approved 119 Padma Awards – Sasi Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri honors.

Twenty-five women are included in the Padma Awards and the list includes 10 persons from the category of foreigners, NRIs, PIOs and OCIs and one transgender. Sixteen people have been given the award posthumously.

Here is the complete list of Padma Award recipients:
Padma Vibhushan

List of Padma Bhushan recipients

List of Padma Shri recipients.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.