Prime Minister will inaugurate the distribution of e-wealth cards on April 24 under the ownership plan

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the distribution of e-wealth cards under the ownership scheme through video conferencing at 12 noon on April 24, 2021 (National Panchayati Raj Day). On this occasion, 4.09 lakh property owners will be given their e-property cards, with which the implementation of the ownership plan will start across the country. Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar will also be present on the occasion.

The Prime Minister will also confer the National Panchayat Award 2021 on the occasion of National Panchayati Raj Day. Rashtriya Panchayat Awards 2021 are being given under the following categories: Deen Dayal Upadhyay Panchayat Empowerment Award (to 224 Panchayats), Nanaji Deshmukh Rashtriya Gaurav Gram Sabha Award (to 30 Gram Panchayats), Gram Panchayat Vikas Yojana Award (to 29 Gram Panchayats) , Child-friendly Gram Panchayat Awards (to 30 Gram Panchayats) and e-Panchayat Awards (to 12 states).

The Hon’ble Prime Minister will transfer the prize money (in the form of grant-in-aid) from Rs. 5 lakh to Rs. 50 lakh, through the click of a button. This amount will be directly transferred to the bank account of the panchayats on real time basis. This is being done for the first time.

About the ownership plan

Ownership (survey of villages and mapping with advanced technology in rural areas) was launched by the Prime Minister on 24 April 2020 as a central sector plan to promote socio-economic empowerment and self-reliant rural India. The scheme has the potential to transform rural India through the use of modern technology tools of mapping and surveying. This paves the way for the villagers to use the property as a financial asset to avail loans and other financial benefits. The scheme will cover about 6.62 lakh villages across the country during 2021-2025.

The pilot phase of the scheme was implemented in the selected villages of Maharashtra, Karnataka, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh and Punjab and Rajasthan during 2020-21.