AAP sweeps BJP in MCD by-election, captures 4 out of 5 seats

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has cleared BJP in the Municipal Corporation by-election in Delhi. The AAP has won 4 of the 5 wards, while the Congress has won one of the municipal wards in Delhi.

The BJP had to face the brunt of the five wards of the Municipal Corporation. In these five seats, there were already Aam Aadmi Party councilors on 4, while one seat had BJP councilors. The by-elections were held in Shalimar Bagh following the demise of the BJP councilor and the resignation of four Aam Aadmi Party councilors.

AAP party candidate Dhirendra Kumar won from Kalyanpuri ward by 7043 votes. AAP party candidate Sunita Mishra was declared the winner from Shalimar Bagh North Ward with 2,705 votes. Other Aam Aadmi Party candidates won from Trilokpuri and Rohini seats.

AAP party chief and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal tweeted, “The people of Delhi once again voted in the name of Kama. Best wishes to all. The public is fed up with 15 years of misrule by the BJP in the MCD. People now really want the Aam Aadmi Party to form the government in the MCD.”

Aam Aadmi Party leader and deputy CM Manish Sisodia tweeted, “Congratulations to Aam Aadmi Party workers on winning 4 out of 5 seats in the MCD by-election. The people of Delhi are now plagued with BJP rule. In next year’s MCD election, the public will bring the honest and working politics of Arvind Kejriwal. “

Speaking to reporters after winning four of the five seats of the AAP party in the Delhi MCD by-elections, Manish Sisodia said, “The people of Delhi have reposed faith in us. He is fed up with the BJP and this election is a sign of that. In 2022, the BJP will be eliminated in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi elections. “

Congress leader Zubair Ahmed Chaudhary won from Chahan Bangar Ward by 10,642 votes. Congress workers and supporters were seen celebrating the victory.