Agriculture Law Repeal Bill 2021 passed in Lok Sabha, Opposition demand for discussion

New Delhi: Within minutes of being introduced in the Lok Sabha on Monday, a bill to repeal three controversial agricultural laws has been passed. The Agriculture Laws Repeal Bill 2021 was passed soon after it was introduced in the lower house by Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar.

The bill was passed without any discussion even though opposition members wanted a discussion on the matter and also sought to raise the issue of farmers’ deaths in protest against three agricultural laws on the first day of the winter session.

Even the opposition came in the middle of the house raising slogans and banners. The Agriculture Laws Repeal Bill 2021 is now expected to be taken up in the Rajya Sabha today itself.

Soon after the Lok Sabha repealed the Agriculture Bill, the Bharat Kisan Union (BKU) leader said, “This (Agriculture Laws Repeal Bill, 2021 passed by Lok Sabha) is a tribute to all 750 farmers who lost their lives during the agitation.

The protest will continue as other issues including MSP are still pending.” Asked whether farmers would celebrate today, the ticket said, “How many farmers were killed during the protest. Should we celebrate it?”

As members of the opposition party continued to raise slogans, Speaker Om Birla told the protesting members that they should ensure the dignity of the House and it is the first day of the winter session.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was also present in the house. Earlier this month, Prime Minister Modi, in an address to the nation, announced that the laws would be repealed. Various farmer groups have been opposing the laws for more than a year and many farmers have lost their lives during the protests.

Two new members – Pratibha Singh of Congress and Dnyaneshwar Patil of BJP – took oath as soon as the proceedings of the House began. Singh represents Mandi in Himachal Pradesh, while Patil is elected from Khandwa in Madhya Pradesh).

Tributes were also paid to the eight former members who have passed away. They are B Senguttuvan, Kalyan Singh, Oscar Fernandes, Godil Prasad Anuragi, Shyam Sundar Somani, Rajnarayan Budholia, Devvrat Singh and Hari Danve Pundalik. The House stood in silence for some time in honor of the departed souls. The session will conclude on December 23.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.