Arunachal: PPA’s only MLA and 6 out of 7 JD (U) MLAs join BJP

Itanagar: One MLA from Arunachal People’s Party Arunachal (PPA) and 6 MLAs of Janata Dal (United) have officially joined Bharatiya Janata Party.

According to a bulletin recently released by the State Legislative Assembly, the MLAs who joined BJP are Talim Taboh (Rumgong) of JD (U), Hyang Mangfi (Chiang Tajo), Jikke Tako (Tali), DW Kharma (Qalctang) ), Dongru Seongju (Bomdila) and Kanggong Taku (Mariang Geku).

Earlier, on 26 November, the JD (U) issued show-cause notices to Seongju, Dharma, and Taku for anti-party activities. He was given 14-day show cause notices by party president Roohi Tagung and suspended.

In the Arunachal Assembly, 6 MLAs went to the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly demanding a change in the leadership of the JD (U). The JD (U) had won 7 seats in the 2019 state assembly elections and Itanagar MLA Tejashwi Kasso was elected the party’s leader.

It is known that JDU is in alliance with BJP at the Center. Meanwhile, Likabali MLA Kurdo Nyagiyor officially joined the BJP on 21 December. Nyagyor, who was the sole legislator of the PPA in the 60-member state assembly, was suspended by the PPA in early December for anti-party activities.