BJP list released; Mukul Roy returns to the political ring after a long gap

The BJP on Thursday announced its second list of candidates for the West Bengal assembly elections, where it is leaving no stone unturned to gain power from the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress.

In this list of 148 candidates for the 159-seat assembly, the party’s national vice-president Mukul Roy, veteran leader Rahul Sinha, MP Jagannath Sarkar, former BJP MLA Samik Bhattacharya and Trinamool leaders Sabyasachi Dutta, Sheelabhadra Dutta are included. , Jitendra Tiwari, Sunil Singh and Subhranshu Roy (Mukul’s son), among others.

While Roy will fight Krishnanagar, the government, MP from Ranaghat will contest from Shantipur.

Senior leader Dilip Ghosh, who is also the party’s head of state, will not contest the election. Sources said that he wanted to focus on campaigning and strategizing. Veteran Bengal unit leader Rahul Sinha will contest from Habra. MLA Jitendra Tiwari will contest from Pandveshwar seat.

The party also added some sparkle with enormous power.

Folk artist Ashim Sarkar has been fielded from the Haringata assembly seat, actor Rudranil Ghosh, who recently joined the saffron brigade, has been elected from the high-profile Babhnipur constituency in Kolkata, currently Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is near. This time the Trinamool chief will leave his rival Suvendu Adikari in Nandigram in his home constituency and go to senior leader Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay. Scientist Gobardhan Das was chosen from the easternmost north.

Fashion designer Agnimitra Paul, actor Parno Mitra have also been given tickets.

The party has to announce its candidates for 11 seats in the last phase of four phase and the fourth phase of voting has the names of 8 candidates scheduled on 10 April.

Elections in West Bengal will be held in eight phases. The first phase will be held on 27 March and the last on 29 April. The results will be announced on 2 May.