Asansol by-election: BJP MLA Agnimitra Paul to take on TMC’s Shatrughan Sinha

Announcing the candidates for the by-polls in West Bengal, the BJP has fielded party MLA Agnimitra Paul as its candidate for the Asansol Lok Sabha seat. Paul will take on her party’s former MP Shatrughan Sinha from Patna Sahib.

Shatrughan Sinha left BJP and joined Congress. He had contested the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Patna on a Congress ticket and lost to Ravi Shankar Prasad of the BJP. The actor-turned-politician then switched to Trinamool Congress and is the ruling party’s candidate for the Asansol seat.

In the 2021 Bengal assembly elections, renowned fashion designer Agnimitra Paul defeated actor and TMC candidate Sayani Ghosh for the Asansol South assembly seat.

The Asansol seat fell vacant after BJP MP Babul Supriyo joined the TMC in September 2021.

BJP has fielded Keya Ghosh as the party’s candidate from the Ballygunge assembly seat.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.