Draupadi Murmu elected 15th President of India, first tribal to occupy Rashtrapati Bhavan

Draupadi Murmu, 15th President of India: Murmu has crossed the halfway mark by securing 5,77,777 votes so far. While Yashwant Sinha got 2,61,062 votes.

Draupadi Murmu, the new President of India: National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Draupadi Murmu on Thursday defeated opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha to become the new President of India. She will take oath as the 15th President of India on July 25, after the term of her predecessor Ram Nath Kovind ends on July 24. With this win, 64-year-old Murmu will soon be the first from the tribal community to occupy the Rashtrapati Bhavan. And is the second woman after Pratibha Patil to be appointed to the country’s top constitutional post.

Announcing her nomination last month, Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter and wrote, “Mrs. Draupadi Murmu ji has dedicated her life to serve the society and empower the poor, downtrodden as well as marginalized people. He has rich administrative experience and has had an excellent tenure. I believe she will be a great President of our country.”