If TMC returns to power, Bengal will become Kashmir: Suvendu Adhikari

Kolkata: Political mercury has warmed in the wake of assembly elections in West Bengal. The leaders are bombarding each other with accusations. Explain that Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Suvendu Adhikari is contesting against the West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in the Nandigram seat in the upcoming assembly elections. He said that if the Trinamool Congress (TMC) comes back to power, Bengal will be transformed into Kashmir.

Addressing a public meeting in Behala, the official said, “If Shyama Prasad Mukherjee had not been there, this country would have been an Islamic country and we would have been living in Bangladesh.” If they (TMC) came back to power, West Bengal would become Kashmir. Nandigram is not a challenge for me. I am going to Nandigram to defeat her (Mamata Banerjee) and send her back to Kolkata. I thank the leadership of the National Party for the responsibility given to me. I will work for the lotus bloom in Nandigram. (Mamata Banerjee) This election (in Nandigram) is going to be defeated by more than 50,000 votes.

The BJP on Saturday set the stage for contesting high-profile elections from the seat in the state assembly elections against TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee from Nandigram. The officer’s name is included in the first list of 57 candidates for the March-April assembly elections, of which six are women and one seat (Baghmundi) has been given to the All Jharkhand Students Union. TMC on Friday released its list of 291 candidates along with Mamta Banerjee, announcing that she would contest from Nandigram.

Mamta Banerjee, who is representing Bhawanipur, had earlier announced that she would contest from Nandigram. Let me tell you in the Trinamool Congress government that the officer who was a former minister in the West Bengal government joined the BJP in December last year. He had earlier said that BJP would defeat Mamata Banerjee by more than 50,000 votes from Nandigram. The West Bengal assembly elections will be held in eight phases starting from March 27, with the final round of voting from March 27. Votes will be counted on May 2 in the state.

(With agency input)