Pushkar Singh Dhami becomes the new CM of Uttarakhand

New Delhi: Pushkar Singh Dhami has been elected as the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.

Dhami, a two-time MLA, was elected the new Chief Minister of the hill state in the BJP Legislature Party meeting in Dehradun.

The election was held in the presence of central observers – Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and party’s national general secretary D. Purandeshwari. BJP in-charge of Uttarakhand Dushyant Gautam was also present in the meeting.

The 45-year-old MLA from Khatima constituency of Udham Singh Nagar district has worked in various positions in the ABVP, the student wing of the RSS, for many years. He has also served as the President of the BJP Youth Wing in Uttarakhand for two terms.

Tirath Singh Rawat submitted his resignation to Governor Baby Rani Maurya late on Friday night. Rawat was a Lok Sabha member from Garhwal, and as per rules, was required to take oath as an elected MLA within six months of taking over as chief minister.

Rawat had to be elected to the state assembly before 10 September to continue in office, which could not happen due to the provision of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, which states that if the remaining term in respect of the House is to be held There can be no by-elections. Less than one year for the vacancy.

The Election Commission has also decided not to hold any elections due to the COVID pandemic.

Tirath Singh Rawat took oath as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand on 10 March replacing Trivendra Singh Rawat.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.