TMC reshuffled amid tension, all posts including one post of Abhishek Banerjee dissolved

In a high-level meeting, Trinamool Congress (TMC) chief Mamata Banerjee on Saturday announced the new 20-member National Action Committee.

Except for the post of the president, who is himself a TMC supremo, all the posts have been dissolved.

According to the new list, Kolkata Mayor Firhad Hakim has got a place in the National Working Committee.

Apart from Firhad, three more new names including Yashwant Sinha, Arup Biswas and Shobhandeb Chatterjee were added to the list.

Meanwhile, veteran MPs Derek O’Brien and Saugata Ray did not find a place in the TMC’s apex policy-making body.

No new posts have been announced in the National Working Committee so far. A TMC official said that all the departments will be announced later.

Senior Trinamool Congress leader Partha Chatterjee told reporters after a meeting at the West Bengal Chief Minister’s residence in Kalighat that Banerjee would name the new office bearers of the party later.

In another development, Abhishek Banerjee is no longer the national general secretary of the party. However, he has been made a member of the committee.

The meeting was called at a time when a rift can clearly be seen growing between party leaders loyal to Abhishek Banerjee and old guards.